What a blast from the past. Everyone looks so young in this movie. Also, Jonah Hill and Emma Stone may have graduated to the Oscar-worthy elite, but Michael Cera will forever hold a special place in my heart.

Getting right to the point, this movie has its highs and lows for me. Highs: Michael Cera singing. Every scene with McLovin’ – no first name – just McLovin’. Age 25. Old enough to party.

mclovin-in-superbad

Lows. If I could turn off my inner-feminist commentary, I would have loved this movie. The female characters leave something to be desired, and the period joke was just a sad reminder that Hollywood is run by white men. It’s a bit of a downer.

Also, Jonah Hill angling to be Emma Stone’s drunken mistake is uncomfortable to watch. I’ll give him a benefit of a doubt. The early 2000s were a different time, man. The Tea and Consent video hadn’t come out yet. Still doesn’t make that soccer scene any less cringe-worthy.

Still, for what it is, SuperBad is a fun time. There is some A+ banter, aside from some questionable ideas about safe sex, I’d watch this movie again – if I found a good drinking game to go with it.

